About the Bosque County Historical Commission

County historical commissions are authorized by State law to carry out a preservation program in each of Texas’ 254 counties. The Bosque County Historical Commission (BCHC) serves as the official organization for carrying out the State preservation program at the local level. The BCHC seeks to preserve, mark, and encourage appreciation of the historical in Bosque County and promote preservation through education and advocacy. The BCHC submits annual reports to the Texas Historical Commission describing ongoing preservation activity.

The BCHC currently has three standing committees: 1) the Cemetery Committee responsible for preservation of historic cemeteries in the county, 2)  the Archives Committee responsible for operating the Bosque County Collection, and 3) the Marker Committee responsible for State historical marker recommendations. The Commission normally meets on the second Friday of odd-numbered months (January, March, May, July, September and November) . Current members of the Bosque County Historical Commission are as follows:

Chairperson: Charles Ellis
Vice-Chairperson: Beth King
Secretary: Bruce Wiland


CC Precinct 1

Albert Hunter, Meridian
Charles Ellis, Morgan
Beth King, Lakeside Village

CC Precinct 2

Gene Blakley, Iredell
LeAnne McCamey, Meridian
Bill Duncan, Meridian

CC Precinct 3

Debbie Ferguson, Valley Mills

CC Precinct 4

Elaine Bell, Norway Mills

Outside Bosque County

Garland Lively
Bruce Wiland
Ruth Crawford
Sharon Whitney

Honorary Members
BeJay Allen, Hewitt TX
Alleen Tibbs, Valley Mills TX
Raymond Whitney, Valley Mills TX


Executive Committee:
Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, and Secretary
Chairpersons of each committee

Cemetery Committee (cemeteries@bosquechc.org):
Bill Duncan, Chairperson

Archives Committee:
Bruce Wiland, Chairperson

Marker Committee (markers@bosquechc.org):
Ruth Crawford, Chairperson

Pool Park Committee:

Link to "BCHC Members Only" page